One tip for email list growth 📈

I reckon I've got about 20 ways you can grow your email list, here's one.

Before we leap into the world of list growth, we need to ask ourselves one question:

“Why would someone in their right mind give us their email address just so that we can send them marketing emails?”

The answer: no one would.

People will only sign up (and stay signed up) if there’s something in it for them.

That’s why e-comm stores offer you “10% off when you sign up”. It’s also why lead magnets exist.

So, what will you offer? Make it good.

“Sign up for the latest news” is not enough.

1 list growth tip for ya

People love a quiz.

My recommendation: use a quiz to get subscribers.

Not many people are doing it and here are a few reasons why I love it:

  1. It gives you sales leads (with some qualification).

  2. The subscribers you get from it are high quality.

  3. It’s really easy to put together (a playbook/whitepaper can be high effort).

  4. It’s easy to promote.

  5. You can use the data from the quiz to segment.

  6. People feel like they get something of value.

Just don’t make all the answers “Gary Lineker”

What should the quiz look like?

Break up your area of expertise into pillars and ask questions for each of those pillars.

Rank the user for each pillar based on their answers.

Give them a report with some action points.

We have one - check it out:

What should I use to build it?

We use ScoreApp. ScoreApp have a list of over 20 other quiz-funnel-things you can use. You can find that list here.

What if I don’t know how?

Reply to this email and I’ll brainstorm with you. No charge - buy me a beer next time you see me.

What’s going on at The Inbox Club

I almost regret starting this section. I’ve got to come up with something interesting every week.

That house plant doesn’t stand a chance with us. Pray for it.

That’s it. Catch you next week.

Jamie

x